How Long Should You Keep Certified Payroll Records?

While there is no provision in the prevailing wage laws which specifies a records retention period for CPRs (Public Works Manual, Office of the Labor Commissioner, Section 3.1.13), California Labor Code 1174 and the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) both require that all payroll records must be kept for a minimum of three years. The IRS requires an employer to retain records relating to payroll taxes for a minimum of four years from the time taxes are due or payment is made. Also, awarding agencies may have various specific payroll retention/ compliance requirements that an employer is required to follow.


Recommended Time to Keep Payroll Records is 7 Years

Although most retention laws and regulations only require the employer to keep payroll records for three or four years, the general rule recommended by most attorneys, accountants and bookkeeping services is to keep payroll records for at least seven (7) years.

Keeping payroll records for 7 years instead of 4 ensures compliance not only with federal regulations but also State and agency requirements.  Retaining records for 7 years should also allow sufficient time for defending lawsuits, audits and potential employment termination or wage claims.

This retention period of 7 years is recommended not as a final authority, but as a generally accepted “best practices” guide.  A contractor’s CPA or tax attorney, may recommend a different approach based on the specific needs of the business.

Recent Posts

WPCCA | Clearstory Introduction and Q&A

Join us to learn more about Clearstory – a Change Order Communication Tool that gets Specialty Contractor Change Orders processed and approved faster. Their core product is a cloud-based, shareable Change Order Log that you can send with a simple…

November 28, 2023

Employers Must Start Using New I-9 Form Starting November 1, 2023

Employers are responsible for using the revised U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Form I-9 to verify the identity and employment authorization of all new hires. To ensure the correct Form I-9 is being used, employers should check the edition…

November 17, 2023

Workplace Violence Prevention Plans Required by July 2024

On September 30, 2023, Governor Newsom signed into law SB553, which established new workplace violence prevention standards in California. The law requires employers to establish, implement and maintain a comprehensive workplace violence prevention plan either as a stand-alone document or…

October 26, 2023

California’s Minimum Wage to Increase to $16.00 Per Hour on January 1, 2024

California law mandates that the minimum wage be increased in response to inflation. Specifically, California Labor Code section 1182.12 delegates authority to the Director of Finance to annually determine and certify to the Governor and State Legislature whether an adjustment…

October 2, 2023

Employers Are Not Liable For The Spread of Covid to Employees’ Household Members

The California Supreme Court unanimously ruled that employers owe no duty to prevent “take home” cases of Covid-19 and are not liable to nonemployees who contract Covid from employee household members who bring the virus home from the workplace. The…

September 26, 2023